My Inner Model

I got the best news today. At work, my colleague told me she had a proposition. Already, I was slightly curious but also wary that she was going to ask me to cover a shift in Reception. Yuck.

But no, this was MUCH more exciting. Her friend is having a wedding fayre and they’re looking for wedding dress models. She casually asked if I would be interested at which point I almost snapped her hand off.

Me. Modelling. Wedding dresses. OH MY SWEET LORD! It’s a dream come true.

See, we all have an inner alter-ego; the person we would like to become were we tall / talented / clever enough. Mine is a 6ft, leggy supermodel. Sadly, being a stumpy 5ft 3 means that I would never get a chance to grace a catwalk. Until today when this fabulous opportunity landed in my lap.

Now, I’m not saying it’ll be like Carrie Bradshaw’s moment (above) when she gets to strut in a pair of sequined D&G knickers and killer heels. There probably won’t even be a catwalk but I do get to wear wedding dresses all day, I get to be centre of attention and I might even bag myself some freebies while I’m at it or at least garner some ideas as to how I would like my own wedding dress to look.

I’m dying with excitement. Let’s just hope it’s not exactly like Carrie Bradshaw’s moment and I wind up flying arse-over-tit in an enormous meringue.

And as for my colleague asking me to help out, I’ll do shifts in Reception to the end of time in gratitude.

This entry was posted in Cue Carrie-Bradshaw-Typing-In-Hotpants Moment, Just a Little Bit About Me, Never Mind the Beckhams, The Curse of the Drinking Classes, Yay!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

