Something I Thought I’d Never Say

My good friend, Mrs M, came for a flying visit a couple of weeks ago. We had a great time reminiscing about meeting on Monday evenings after school for beer, or lime and soda if we were skint, and chatting away about everything and anything over roll-ups.

Mrs M has since married and now has a one year old son.

We were chopsing away about domestic life. She was telling me that she once had a spat with Mr M because she felt that all she was ever doing was the washing up. She fled to her ma’s for a bit of down-time and, when she got back, found a dishwasher in the kitchen with a large bow on it; a gift she states has changed her life.

I related the story of the time our second-hand washing machines kept packing up. Having to take bundles of clothes to my mum’s and Mr P’s parents’ every weekend was a nightmare, although we did get the laundry returned folded neatly and smelling beautifully washing powder fresh – something I’m sure only mothers can achieve. Mum then actually bought me a brand new washing machine and I love it; in fact, I’d go as far as to say that I couldn’t live without it.

If I’d have known 10 years ago that domestic appliances would be dominating our pub conversations, I’d never gave believed it.

This entry was posted in Comrades, Criiiiiiiiiinge, Faaamily, Freaky Shit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

