Too Much Too Young

One of my pet hates is people who don’t get music. I have several examples of this, all involving he cretins I’m unlucky enough to work with on a day-to-day basis.

  • A 50-odd colleague of mine had never heard of the Rolling Stones, despite coming of age when they were in their prime. Even if they werent;’t his cup of tea, surely he should have heard of them at the very least?
  • A 40-year-old workmate had no idea who the Kinks were. She pleaded youth but surely her parents would’ve listened to them? She must have heard You Really Got Me at least once in her life, right?
  • A chap I work with who is in his mid-thirties couldn’t tell the difference between Noel and Liam Gallagher – Definitely Maybe should’ve been the album he grew up with;
  • A mid-thirties female colleague was oblivious to the Stone Roses even though they were at their most famous in her era!

I find it shocking. And very sad.

Another thing that really annoys me is when people assume that I am too young to have heard of certain things. Again, this involves the wankers at the workplace.

KKK was amazed that I had heard of vinyl, let alone that I owned a record player. I think she was expecting me to ask “what’s that?'”when she brought up the fact that she still has tapes – shock, horror! – in her car. Like I’ve never heard of them. I was a child of the 80s, for fuck’s sake.

Yesterday, My Second Mother was talking about Paul McCartney’s recent wedding. She said “but of course, you’d be too young to be a fan of the Beatles”.

What?!!

That’s like saying you’re too young to read Jane Austen if weren’t born in the 19th century, like saying you’re too young to watch Citizen Kane or go to see a Shakespeare play.

What a load of old bollocks.  Or young bollocks at that.

This entry was posted in Just a Little Bit About Me, Miss Ranty Pants, The Curse of the Drinking Classes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

